top of page

An Interview with DIMMER Front-Man Nathaniel Walker


Recently, I had the opportunity to sit with DIMMER front-man Nathaniel (Nate) Walker to get to know the State College band a bit better. The indie band comprised of members Benson, Mike, Brandon, and Nathan is already well known in the area, despite performing for just six months so far. “I started DIMMER alone at first.” Walker said, “It was just a studio project with my friend. I had all this music and I didn’t know what to do with it, and he’s the kind of guy where…he just knows exactly what to do with what you give him”. When DIMMER was a one-man show, Nate had to get creative with finding gigs. “I would show up by myself with all my stuff and a loop pedal and just try to perform.” Walker laughed. “After, people would always say I needed a band. I was like ‘yeah, I know!’”

Nate Walker’s appreciation for playing music started when he played trombone in elementary school. Although trombone was his first experience playing music, it was an eclectic mix CD that made him realize just what type of musician he wanted to be. “Honest to God, no joke, my friends made me a mix CD of Linkin Park and Lil Jon and the East Side Boys and that was it,” Walker continued, “Fifth grade I asked my parents for drums and they got me this little shitty drum pad I didn’t really like. Then the next year they got me a guitar and I never stopped playing.” Nate took a little more time to become the singer he is now, however. “I started singing in ninth grade. I was really into this one screamo band, but they had this singer who would sing R&B vocals over it, which was beautiful just because it made me feel so many things. So I would turn my stereo all the way up and sing along to it hoping no one would hear me.” Nate said, but it was only a matter of time before people caught on. "My mom commented once on the progress I made, I was so embarassed." One day ninth-grade Nate was singing in the shower, without realizing his bandmates were in the next room listening. "They made me sing in the band after that!" he reminsces, and the rest is history.

DIMMER’s style of music, specifically in their new single “Alien” is unique in its use of Nate’s vocals as an instrumental track as opposed to overlapping the rest of the bands. “It was kind of a conscious decision,” Walker explained. “it’s me talking about shit that troubles me…I’m not comfortable talking about it to people, and I want to be as vague as possible to not step on anyone’s toes.” This style is expected to change with DIMMER’s new music, however. “Our stuff is going to be more open about heartbreak and mental illness and just being uncomfortable 24/7. So when it’s released I want people to really know that’s what it’s about. I want to be more honest about who am, so the singing will be [purposefully] more audible.” The front-man explained. Their music is mastered by Tyler Wirtz, a friend of Nate’s who mixes from his home in California.

From an indie-band standpoint, DIMMER is by no means the only act around. So how do they make sure they’re bringing something different to the stage? By focusing on emotion, more than adhering to an aesthetic or genre. “I like to say “here’s me, on a silver platter.” If you were to cut me open, and pour me onto a tray that would be DIMMER.” Nate continues, “I can say parts of my story that I wouldn’t always be comfortable talking about because I’m singing it with different instruments, rather than talking about it.” As far as influence, DIMMER pulls from artists like Mitski, the Cure, and John Maus. “Most of the time our music sounds like new wave indie, but I’m all about the 80s goth-synth-pop sound. And trap music.” Walker laughs, “the trap music doesn’t have anything to do with our sound, though. Just the mentality. Never stop, always hustle, fuck anyone who tries to get in your way…oh! And high-hats everywhere. Yeah, high-hats.”

Out of all the locations DIMMER has performed at, two stand out to Nate Walker. “Chronic town, because I’m convinced they have such a good sound system, that you could be the worst band ever and still sound amazing there. And Houseasaurus Co-op.” he continues, “I love the co-op because of the vibe of it. I’ve only played there twice but everyone’s so aware of each other and the space. Everyone’s so respectful of each other. “As for upcoming shows, in October DIMMER has plans of having a small tour up to Boston, but Walker says afterward the band’s main focus will be to record and release their new music by New Years.

You can listen to DIMMER’s music at dimmerpa.bandcamp.com!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page